Addiction Part 2 #addiction #Impulse #Debt #BuyItNow

How do you handle people telling you what to do? Do you cave into peer pressure? Me… I don’t take people telling me what to do very well, I usually tell them where to go – politely. ๐Ÿ˜‰

When it comes to peer pressure, I don’t usually listen, except to the commercials on tv, radio and that voice in my head. But that is the problem. Why do I listen to that voice in my head, when I would tell another person to get lost? Is it because I am talking to myself? Or am I?

I have never been big on talking about the devil, demons or spiritual attacks, but when it comes to addiction, I find it very helpful to externalize that voice inside. Pretend that the voice is not in your head, but a person who is talking to you. Why if that voice wasn’t in my head I would…

There it goes again, it is telling me that I need a new smartwatch. Do I hear half of you laughing at me, and the other half asking what a smartwatch is?

A smartwatch is a watch that connects to your phone, and relays notifications to you. You may be laughing and not see this as a need, but once you have one, you have a hard time living without. And I don’t just need any smartwatch, I already have an Android Wear that just does the basics, but it turns itself off after a few hours. No, I need the latest Samsung Gear S3 (I haven’t been an Apple fan since they ditched the Apple IIe for the Mac and didn’t have any way to convert).

I need one, I will feel better when I have one… Wait… what? That is one of my catchphrases from my last post. Hey voice… How am I going to feel better when I have one? <silence> That $400 is reserved for emergencies, is this an emergency? <silence> What if I spend it, and then an emergency comes up (and you know it will) and now I have to go into debt, am I going to feel better then? <silence> Do you remember how stressed I was the last time I was in debt? <silence> I had to sell my house to get out of debt! Hey voice, where are you now?!?!?!

Hmmm…. Wouldn’t you know it… The need to buy that smartwatch just disappeared… I guess that voice doesn’t like it when I stand up to it, or ask it questions. ๐Ÿ˜‰

1 thought on “Addiction Part 2 #addiction #Impulse #Debt #BuyItNow”

Leave a Reply

